le sable

Women

Promote

women's

empowerment

The future belongs to women

Women especially are faced with difficult living conditions. They have but few resources. Droughts inevitably make things much harder for families who rely on agriculture and rearing livestock for a living. With no support, they cannot hope to develop income-generating activities.

Women have the ability to positively

Women are often perceived as child-carers, homemakers, and nothing more. But they are also capable of taking on an important economic role.

Women have the ability to positively influence the development of rural villages. They already play a vital part in their own families’ development through housework and other daily chores. Every day, they must travel several kilometers to retrieve supplies from distant shops and buy basic food items (milk, oil, pasta, etc.).

This takes up a lot of their time, thus preventing them from developing other activities that could potentially diversify their sources of income.

 

Our numerous actions aim to offer women more independence, by:

  • Teaching them to process and dry fruits and vegetables, thanks to the creation of 5 cooperatives in 5 villages. These cooperatives are equipped with solar ovens, grain mills, and carts. Their produce is then sold locally as well as at the Agadez market, and generates regular income. 

  • Creating shops within cooperatives: women buy essential products in the nearby towns, then sell them locally for a profit. This profit goes towards healthcare.  

  • Creating small shops for everyday consumer products, giving women the means to generate their own income. Living in the bush means that these women are isolated as there are no large businesses nearby. They sometimes have to walk for hours for simple amenities such as clothes, sanitary products, food, and medicine.

  • Providing women with working capital, either individually or as part of a group, allowing them to purchase food, fabrics, and so on, which they can resell in their village for a profit. For a group of 15 to 20 women, this usually represents € 2000 (US$ 2400).

  • Teaching them literacy.

  • Teaching them to sew.

  • Providing management training. 

Les Puits du Désert

  • Les Puits du Désert

Les Puits du Désert - BP 09 74450 Le Grand-Bornand

mail: administration@lespuitsdudesert.org

 site web: www.lespuitsdudesert.org

  • Les Puits du Désert

 © 2020 Les Puits du Désert

le sable

Les femmes

Promouvoir l'autonomisation des femmes

L'avenir passe par les femmes 

Les femmes sont confrontées à des conditions de vie difficiles. Elles ont peu de ressources. Les sécheresses aggravent la situation des familles qui dépendent de l’agriculture et de l ’élevage pour vivre. Sans accompagnement, elles ne peuvent développer des activités génératrices de revenus.

Elles ont le pouvoir d'agir positivement

 

Le rôle des femmes se limite aux tâches familiales et domestiques, bien qu’elles aient pourtant  la capacité d'endosser un rôle économique beaucoup plus important.

Elles ont le pouvoir d’agir  sur le développement des villages ruraux. La preuve en est qu’elles assument déjà des rôles vitaux pour les familles comme les corvées quotidiennes. Elles parcourent quotidiennement plusieurs kilomètres pour s’approvisionner auprès d'une boutique éloignée  et acheter les vivres de première nécessité (lait, huile, pâtes, etc). Ce temps passé empêche tout développement d’autres activités qui pourraient leur permettre de diversifier leurs sources de revenus.

Pour accompagner les femmes vers une autonomie, nous avons entrepris plusieurs types d’actions :

  • Formation à la transformation et au séchage des fruits et légumes, par la création de 5 coopératives dans 5 villages. Ces coopératives sont équipées de fours solaires, de moulins à grains et de charrettes. La production est vendue localement ainsi qu'au marché d'Agadez et génère des revenus réguliers. 

  • Créations de boutiques au sein des coopératives : les femmes achètent en ville les produits de première nécessité  revendus localement avec bénéfice. L'argent ainsi récolté est utilisé pour les soins médicaux.  

  • Création de petits commerces de produits de consommation courante, permettant ainsi de donner aux femmes les moyens de mener une activité génératrice de revenus. En effet ces femmes isolées, vivant en brousse n’ont rien à proximité. Tous les besoins vestimentaires, hygiéniques, alimentaires, médicaux, etc. sont à plusieurs heures de marche.

  • Doter les  femmes d’un fonds de roulement, soit individuellement, soit collectivement au sein d‘un groupement leur permettant d’acheter des vivres, tissus, etc. qu’elles revendraient au sein du village en dégageant un bénéfice. (Pour un groupement de 15/20 femmes : environ 2 000 € )

  • Alphabétisation

  • Formation à la couture

  • Formation à la gestion